Royal Ascot 2022

Future shines bright in Wolferton Stakes

Dubai Future completed an opening-day double for Godolphin after running away with what had looked a super competitive renewal of the Listed Wolferton Stakes.

Just over an hour after Coroebus carried the royal blue silks to victory in the G1 St James’s Palace Stakes, Dubai Future made a complete mockery of his 20/1 price, travelling powerfully in the slipstream of the leaders before sweeping to the front in the home straight.

Trainer Saeed bin Suroor and jockey Danny Tudhope had already hit the frame this afternoon with Real World in the G1 Queen Anne Stakes and the pair went one better with a horse who was beaten 11 lengths last time out by tomorrow’s G1 Prince of Wales’s Stakes favourite Bay Bridge.

Dubai Future has now won six races in total and each success has come under a different jockey. Cadillac (11/2F) was three lengths away in second, with Harrovian (14/1) a length and a quarter further back in third.

Tudhope said: “It was my first time on Dubai Future and I didn’t know too much about him. On form, he had a bit to do to get back to his best. We had such a smooth run round really. I couldn’t have asked for a better position.

“He stays a mile and a half, and they went a good gallop, which suited him. I was a bit surprised as to how far in front I was, but the way he was travelling, I would have been surprised if something had come past me.

“To ride for Saeed and put on these colours is great, and there is no better place to ride winners than here. I have some nice rides through the rest of the week for Saeed, so fingers crossed.”

Saeed bin Suroor said: “The cheekpieces keep Dubai Future more focused. I like the jockey [Danny Tudhope]. He always gives the horse a chance. He has ridden horses for me before and we have had luck with him. This horse won well. We might take him to Newmarket for a Group 2 now.”


5.35pm Wolferton Stakes (Listed)

1 Dubai Future (Godolphin) Saeed bin Suroor 6-9-08 Danny Tudhope 20/1

2 Cadillac (Sheikh Abdullah Almalek Alsabah) Kevin Philippart De Foy 4-9-08 Shane Foley 11/2F

3 Harrovian (HH Sheikh Zayed bin Mohammed Racing) John & Thady Gosden 6-9-05 Frankie Dettori 14/1

15 ran

Saeed bin Suroor – 38th Royal Ascot winner

Danny Tudhope – 7th Royal Ascot winner